If you experience an illness or injury related to your job, you can apply for workers’ compensation benefits in North Carolina. This program through your employer’s insurance provider covers your medical expenses as well as disability costs if necessary.
Review the process of seeking workers’ compensation benefits in North Carolina if you or a loved one has suffered a workplace injury.
Reporting the injury
You have 30 days to notify your employer after an injury at work or diagnosis with a work-related illness. Tell your supervisor as soon as possible so you can receive covered medical care. The state requires most companies to carry workers’ compensation insurance if they have three or more employees.
Understanding available benefits
North Carolina requires you to see an authorized medical provider for your workplace injury or illness. Your employer or the insurance provider will provide information about the appropriate doctor upon notification of your injury.
If the doctor says you cannot return to work because of your injury, you can receive temporary total disability benefits for up to 500 weeks. The weekly amount equals two-thirds of your average weekly wage for the period before the accident. You may also qualify for temporary partial disability if you can return to work after the illness or injury but earn less than before.
If the insurance company denies your workers’ compensation claim, you can request a hearing with the North Carolina Industrial Commission. The state workers’ compensation laws applied to repetitive injuries as well as injuries caused by one-time trauma and illnesses resulting from workplace exposure.